Movers and Shakers | 5 February 2021

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

By Mia Bartoloni

Mia Bartoloni is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

05 Feb 2021

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: New REGI Committee vice-chair elected, new deputy director-general of DG FISMA, former ECB chief to form new government, the latest Commission, public affairs appointments, and more!

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter

European Parliament

Committees and Delegations
Regional Development Committee (REGI)
Vlad-Marius Botoş (RE, RO) has been elected second vice-chair of the committee. He will assist chair Younous Omarjee (The Left, FR) alongside fellow vice-chairs Krzysztof Hetman (EPP, PL), Adrian-Dragoş Benea (S&D, RO) and Isabel Benjumea Benjumea (EPP, ES).

Yana Toom (RE, EE) has joined the Legal Affairs Committee (JURI).

The Parliament welcomes a new Swedish member, Emma Wiesner (RE), who fills the vacant seat left by Fredrick Federley. At 28 years of age, Wiesner is the youngest Swedish member to serve in Brussels. A civil engineering graduate, her LinkedIn profile states that she is passionate about energy technology and energy policy and will focus on issues such as regulation, environmental policy and energy markets. Wiesner has also said that she will pursue an entrepreneur-friendly policy with a focus on free movement, trade and openness.

Prior to her entry in Parliament, Wiesner worked as an analyst at the technology company Sweco and worked on EU issues at the Confederation of Swedish Enterprise's Brussels office.

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets
Ivana McDowell joins the team of Commissioner for Jobs and Social Rights, Nicolas Schmit, as member of cabinet and legal & external relations adviser. McDowell has prior experience in the Commission having served as a member of cabinet in Commissioner Neven Mimica’s team between 2013-14.

Directorates-General and Services

Christian Engelen replaces Jean-Pierre Raes as head of unit E3 (Borrowing and Lending Operations). Raes had been performing the role in an acting capacity.

Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN)
Significant structural changes have taken places within the Directorate-General. Please refer to for a comprehensive and up to date record.

Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union (FISMA)
Alexandra Jour-Schroeder (DE) has been appointed as deputy director-general. Jour-Schroeder is currently director of criminal justice and acting deputy director-general in DG Justice and Consumers (JUST) where she oversees the department for consumer protection. The date of effect of this appointment is yet to be determined.
Jenny Robertson replaces Patrick Pearson as head of unit C2 (Financial markets infrastructure) in an acting capacity.

Health and Food Safety (SANTE)
Chantal Bruetschy has left their role as head of unit E3 (Biotechnology), leaving a vacant tenure.

Human Resources and Security (HR)
Przemyslaw Slowik replaces Alexander Gemberg-Wiesike as head of unit A1 (Organisational Performance, Resource Allocation & Structures) in an acting capacity.

Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (GROW)
Outi Slotboom replaces Kamil Kiljansk as director of directorate A (Competitiveness and Outreach). Kiljansk had been performing the role in an acting capacity.
Aurora Mordonu replaces Francisco Caballero Sanz as head of unit A2 (European Semester and Competitiveness) in an acting capacity.
Fabrice Terrac replaces Iwona Piorko as head of unit A4 (International affairs) in an acting capacity.

Office for the Administration and Payment of Individual Entitlements (PMO)
Alexander Gemberg-Wiesike has been appointed as director, taking over from Giuseppe Scognamiglio who was performing the role in an acting capacity.

Research and Innovation (RTD)
Philippe Tulkens replaces Piotr Tulej as head of unit C3 (Climate and Planetary Boundaries) in an acting capacity.
Elisabetta Balzi replaces Jyrki Suominen as head of unit C4 (Healthy Oceans and Seas).

Nele Eichhorn replaces Timo Hammaren as head of unit E2 (Southern neighbours, Middle East, Turkey, Russia and Central Asia).

Translation (DGT)
Josefine Hederström replaces Silva Kauko as head of unit, coordination and institutional affairs under the director-general.
Leila Anupold replaces Heiki Pisuke as head of the Estonian language department in directorate B (Translation) in an acting capacity.

Public Affairs

Ceemet – European Tech & Industry Employers
Hubert Mongon, CEO of UIMM, has been elected as new chair of the board of directors for a three-year mandate succeeding the director-general of Gesamtmetall, Oliver Zander who held the position since 2017.

(Italian) Agency for the Promotion of European Research (APRE)
Mattia Ceracchi has been appointed Head of the EU office. Prior to this position, Ceracchi was head of EU affairs at I-Com – Institute for Competitiveness.

Inline Policy
Aymeric Leruste has joined Inline Policy as executive director and head of its Brussels office. Prior to joining Inline, Leruste spent seven years at Edwards Lifesciences.

Andrea Chiarello has been appointed director, head of the EU government affairs and will lead Pfizer's external engagement with EU policy-makers both offline and online. Chiarello has worked with Pfizer since 2015 when he started as a policy adviser, EU government affairs.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

President Sergio Mattarella has asked former chief of the European Central Bank Mario Draghi to form a new government. Draghi has begun consultations with parties in the parliament and so far, the Democratic Party, Italia Viva and Forza Italia have confirmed their backing.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni - Movers and Shakers | 16 July 2021


EU Institutions
Share this page