Movers and Shakers | 16 October 2020

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

By Mia Bartoloni

Mia Bartoloni is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

16 Oct 2020

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: the new chair and vice-chair of Parliament’s South Asia delegation, the Greens/EFA nominate a new IMCO chair, the Commission appoints a new Director-General for DG SANTE, president of Eurojust re-elected, the latest Commission, public affairs appointments, and much more!

European Parliament

President David Sassoli has announced that next week’s plenary will not take place in Strasbourg but will be held remotely due to the ongoing health risks of COVID-19.


Arab Peninsula Delegation (D-ARP)
Caroline Nagtegaal (RE, NL) has been elected vice-chair.

South Asia Delegation (D-SAS)
At the committee’s meeting on 12 October Nicola Procaccini (ECR, IT) was elected chair and Evelyn Regner (S&D, AT) was elected vice-chair.

Political groups

The group has put forward the name of Anna Cavazzini (DE) for chair of the Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee (IMCO) replacing outgoing MEP Petra de Sutter who recently left the Parliament to take up a ministerial post in the new Belgian government. Since joining the committee at the beginning of the 9th legislature, Cavazzini has campaigned for high socio-ecological product standards on the European market.

MEP News
The Belgian government has nominated former Belgian deputy prime minister and current MEP Kris Peeters (EPP, BE) to become a vice-president of the European Investment Bank (EIB). The nomination will now have to be ratified and a decision is expected in December or January.


Directorate-General for Parliamentary Research Services (EPRS)
Elena Lazarou is new the acting head of unit, external policies in Directorate A (Members’ Research Service).

European Commission

Directorates-General and Services

Communication (COMM)
Principal adviser for ‘Corporate and Political Communication' Telmo Baltazar (PT) will move to a role with the team of the upcoming Portuguese Council presidency as of 1 December. Baltazar will head up ‘strategic communications’ and oversee the flow of information between Coreper and other Council formations.

Competition (COMP)
Maria Jaspers (SE) has been appointed director for Cartels. Jaspers has held numerous positions in the Commission in the field of competition and is currently the head of unit of Antitrust Case Support and Policy.

Energy (ENER)
Ditte Juul-Jørgensen replaces Klaus-Dieter Borchardt as deputy director-general overseeing directorates A, B and C in an acting capacity.

European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (ECHO)
Hans Das (BE) has been appointed director for Emergency Management and rescEU. Das is currently head of unit for Counterterrorism in the Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs (HOME).

European Anti-Frauf Office (OLAF)
Petr Klement leaves his role as a member of the supervisory committee, leaving a vacant tenure. Klement had recently been selected by the government of the Czech Republic to the European Public Prosecutor's Office (EPPO), an independent EU body competent to fight crimes against the Union’s budget.

Health and Food Safety (SANTE)
Current deputy director-general Sandra Gallina (IT) has been appointed Director-General with effect from 16 October. Prior to her role as deputy director-general, Gallina occupied various senior management assignments in the Directorate-General for Trade including as deputy director-general, director for sustainable development, economic partnership agreements - African, Caribbean and Pacific - Agri-food and Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures, and EU Chief Negotiator for the EU-Mercosur Free Trade Agreement.

Other EU Institutions and Agencies

Eurojust, the European Union Agency for Criminal Justice Cooperation
Ladislav Hamran (SK) has been re-elected as president. In 2013, Hamran was elected vice-president and was re-elected in this role in 2016 before becoming president in November 2017. Klaus Meyer-Cabri (DE) was re-elected as vice-president in November last year. Eurojust’s second vice-president will be elected next month.

European Central Bank (ECB)
The Executive Board has appointed Wolfgang Proissl (DE) to the position of director-general  of communications (DG-C) as of 1 January 2021. Proissl currently serves as head of communication and chief spokesperson at the European Stability Mechanism (ESM), a position he has held since October 2012. He will succeed Christine Graeff, who left the ECB on 30 September 2020 to take up a position in the private sector.

European External Action Service (EEAS) - CSDP
Nataliya Apostolova (BG) has been appointed Head of the European Union Police Mission for the Palestinian Territories (EUPOL COPPS) until 30 June 2021, replacing Kauko Aaltomaa (FI). Since 2010 Apostolova has held senior posts in Egypt as deputy Head of the EU delegation in Cairo, in Libya as Ambassador/Head of the EU delegation in Tripoli, and in Kosovo as EU Special Representative/Head of the Office of the EU in Pristina. Mihai-Florin Bulgariu (RO) has also been appointed Head of the EU Border Assistance Mission for the Rafah Crossing Point (EUBAM Rafah). Bulgariu is currently the Head of Operations - Integrated Border Management Expert at EUBAM Rafah.

Public Affairs

Baker McKenzie
Former deputy director-general for energy in the European Commission, Klaus Dieter-Borchardt, joins the Antitrust and Competition team as senior energy consultant in Baker McKenzie’s Brussels office as of 1 October. Before becoming deputy director-general at DG ENER, Dieter-Borchardt served in the Legal Service where he dealt inter alia with competition law, and then as deputy and head of cabinet for Commissioner Mariann Fischer Boel (Agriculture and Rural Development).

Ceemet - European Tech & Industry Employers
Nancy Pallares and Diego Andreis have been elected vice-presidents and will support the newly-elected president Rainer Ludwig. Andreis brings experience to the role as the outgoing president and also as managing director of Fluido-Tech, a family business with 70 years of experience in the engineering and manufacturing of positive displacement pumps and fluidics systems for the automotive, medical, foodservice and industrial field. Pallares has worked extensively in the defence sector and sits on the DSMEC (Defence SME Committee) and National Defence Industry Advisory board (UK).

Deutsch Bank
Nina Schindler has left her role as managing director and head of government and public affairs for the EU and is succeeded by Johannes Pockrandt.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it! 

National News

The Homeland Union (EPP) came first in the first round of parliamentary elections on Sunday with approximately 24.8 percent of the vote. The Farmers and Greens party, which had led the previous ruling coalition, came in second on 17.5 percent. A second round of voting has been set for 25 October.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter. 

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni - Movers and Shakers | 16 July 2021


EU Institutions
Share this page