Movers and Shakers | 26 November 2021

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: The renewal of the Left’s Co-Presidents' term, Ireland’s new Deputy Permanent Representative, Romania’s new government, Finland’s interim Ministers, and more!

By Nisa Khan

Nisa Khan is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

25 Nov 2021

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.

European Parliament

The Left in the European Parliament
Co-Presidents Manon Aubry (GUE/NGL, FR) and Martin Schirdewan (GUE/NGL, DE) and Vice-Presidents Marisa Matias (GUE/NGL, PT), Sira Rego (GUE/NGL, ES), Nikolaj Villumsen ((GUE/NGL, DK) and João Pimenta Lopes (GUE/NGL, PT) have had their mandates renewed for the rest of the European Parliamentary term.

Committees and Delegations
Carlo Calenda (RE, IT) is no longer a member on the Industry, Research and Energy Committee (ITRE) and the Relations with Canada Delegation (D-CA). He is also no longer a substitute on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee (ENVI), Relations with the United States Delegation (D-US) and the International Trade Committee (INTA).
Krzysztof Hetman (EPP, PL) is now a member instead of a substitute on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee (IMCO).
Victor Negrescu (S&D, RO) is now a member instead of a substitute on the Constitutional Affairs Committee (AFCO).
Dragoş Pîslaru (RE, RO) is now a substitute instead of a member on the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON).
Stéphane Séjourné (RE, FR) is no longer a substitute on the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON).
Mihai Tudose (S&D, RO) is now a substitute instead of a member on the Constitutional Affairs Committee (AFCO).

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets

Cabinet of Vĕra Jourová
Irina Stefuriuc is temporarily replacing Simona Constantin as a Member of Cabinet who is currently on maternity leave. Her responsibilities include media in the digital environment (legal issues), journalism (safety, support, Anti-SLAPP) and coordination with the Commissioner for Justice.

Cabinet of Virginijus Sinkevičius
Andrea Vettori is temporarily replacing Camilla Bursi as a Member of Cabinet. His responsibilities include the implementation of the EU-Biodiversity Strategy for 2030 (Biodiversity and Nature Protection) and the EU Forest Strategy and the Strategy for Soil Protection.

Directorates-General and Services

Communications Networks, Content and Technology (CONNECT)
Laure Chapuis replaces Katarzyna Szczuka as Head of Unit D2 (Policy Implementation and Planning) who was covering the role in an acting capacity.

Representations in Member States

Vladimír Šucha has been appointed as the Head of the European Commission's Representation in Bratislava, replacing Ladislav Miko. He has been working for the Commission for over 15 years and was the Director-General of the Joint Research Centre (JRC) in 2014. He is currently a Senior Policy Adviser at the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and will start his new role on 1 January 2022.

Other EU Institutions and Agencies

European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE)
Dennis van der Veur is the new Head of Knowledge Management and Communications.

European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Training (CEPOL)
Philippe Durand has been elected as the new Chair of the management board, replacing José Leitão while Jan Pechacek will be the new Deputy Chair. They will assume their responsibilities on 1 January 2022.

Permanent Representations

Barbara Cullinane replaces Maeve Collins as the Deputy Permanent Representative.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

Krista Mikkonen has replaced Maria Ohisalo as the Minister for the Interior who is on parental leave while Emma Kari takes over Mikkonen’s position as Minister for the Environment and Climate Change.

Nicolae-Ionel Ciucă has been elected as Prime Minister of the new grand coalition government. Sorin Mihai Grindeanu is the new Deputy Prime Minister as well as the Minister for Transport and Infrastructure, replacing Dan Vîlceanu, who was covering the role in an acting capacity. Vîlceanu is the new Minister for European Investments and Projects while Adrian Câciu takes over his previous role as Minister for Finance. Marian-Cătălin Predoiu is the new Minister for Justice, Vasile Dîncu is the Minister for National Defence and Florin Marian Spătaru is the Minister for the Economy.

Adrian-Ionuț Chesnoiu replaces Nechita-Adrian Oros as the Minister for Agriculture and Rural Development while Marius-Constantin Budăi replaces Raluca Turcan as the Minister for Labour and Social Solidarity. Alexandru Rafila replaces Attila-Zoltán Cseke as the Minister for Health who was covering the role in an acting capacity. Constantin-Daniel Cadariu is the Minister for Entrepreneurship and Tourism. Florin-Claudiu Roman replaces Barna Tánczos as Minister for Research, Innovation and Digitalisation who was covering the role in an acting capacity. Lucian Romașcanu replaces Bogdan Gheorghiu as the Minister for Culture and finally, Gabriela Firea is the Minister for Family, Youth and Equal Opportunities.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service.

Read the most recent articles written by Nisa Khan - Movers and Shakers | 1 July 2022