Movers and Shakers | 19 November 2021

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: S&D’s President’s re-election, Commissioner Cabinet news, two new Estonian Ministers, and more!

By Nisa Khan

Nisa Khan is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

18 Nov 2021

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.

European Parliament

MEP News
Carlo Calenda (RE, IT) has left the S&D Group to join the Renew Europe Group.

Political Groups

S&D Group
Iratxe García Pérez (S&D, ES), who ran unopposed, has been re-elected as the President of the group.

Committees and Delegations

Stéphane Séjourné (RE, FR) is no longer the Chair for the Relations with Mercosur Delegation (DMER).

Andrea Caroppo (EPP, IT) joins the Agriculture and Rural Development Committee (AGRI).
Lucia Vuolo (EPP, IT) joins the Fisheries Committee (PECH).

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets

Cabinet of President Ursula von der Leyen
Martina Lodrant joins the Cabinet as a Policy Coordinator for External Relations. Her responsibilities include bilateral and multilateral summits, support to the diplomatic adviser on the global gateway on connectivity and EXCO and as well as support to the trade adviser.

Directorates-General and Services

Competition (COMP)
Max Lienemeyer is the new Head of Unit H3 (PCEI, Environment and Innovation II) while Harold Nyssens is the Head of Unit H5 (Fiscal Aid and Aggressive Tax Planning).
Philippe Chauve is the new acting Head of Unit E5 (Antitrust: Agriculture, Food and Fast-Moving Consumer Goods).

European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF)
Joanna Krzeminska-Vamvaka has been appointed as Director of Directorate A (Expenditure Operations and Investigations). The date of effect will be determined later and she will replace Antonio Miceli who is covering the role in an acting capacity.

Justice and Consumers (JUST)
Ana Gallego Torres replaces Salla Saastamoinen as Director-General who was covering the role in an acting capacity.

Representations in Member States

Vivian Loonela has been appointed as the Head of the European Commission's Representation in Tallinn, replacing Keit Kasemets. She is currently a Coordinating Spokesperson of the Commission for the European Green Deal and will start her new role on 16 January 2022.

Other EU Institutions and Agencies

European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
Kai Taka-aho replaces Orion Andrews as Director of Directorate I (Information Systems) who was covering the role in an acting capacity.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

Erki Savisaar has replaced Tōnis Mölder as Minister for the Environment while Tiit Terik has replaced Anneli Ott as Minister for Culture.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service.

Read the most recent articles written by Nisa Khan - Movers and Shakers | 1 July 2022