Movers and Shakers | 15 October 2021

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: A new German MEP, two MEPs change national parties, new Judges of the General Court, new FRA vice-chairperson, national news, and more!

By Nisa Khan

Nisa Khan is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

14 Oct 2021

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.

European Parliament

Sven Schulze (EPP, DE) has left his seat in Parliament to take up his new role as Minister for Agriculture, Forestry and Economics in Saxony-Anhalt. Karolin Braunsberger-Reinhold (EPP, DE) has joined as a Member of Parliament.

Political Groups

Manfred Weber (EPP, DE) has been re-elected as the leader of the European Parliament’s largest group for the third term. Weber was running unopposed and received 162 out of 173 votes cast, with 11 abstentions. Esteban González Pons (EPP, ES) and Esther de Lange (EPP, NL) were also re-elected as vice presidents.

Committees and Delegations

Matteo Adinolfi (ID, IT) joins the Regional Development Committee (REGI) replacing Francesca Donato (NI, IT).
Gerolf Annemans (ID, BE) joins the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON) replacing Francesca Donato (NI, IT).

National Parties

Adam Bielan (ECR, PO) has left Prawo i Sprawiedliwość to join Partia Republikańska as the newly elected leader.
Dorien Rookmaker (NI, NL) has joined Meer Directe Democratie.

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets

Cabinet of Olivér Várhelyi
Justyna Petsch replaces Selma Haenicke who is on maternity leave. Her new responsibilities include entrepreneurship and SMEs, Europe Fit for the Digital Age and data protection.

Council of the European Union

The Court of Justice of the European Union

General Court
Following the resignation of Zoltán Csehi and Octavia Spineanu-Matei, Krisztián Kecsmár from Hungry and Ion Gâlea from Romania have been appointed as Judges of the General Court till the end of August 2022.

Permanent Representations

Christina Rafti replaces Nicholas Emiliou as Cyprus’ Permanent Representative. She was previously the Director of the Middle East and Africa in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Cyprus.

Other EU Institutions and Agencies

European Research Executive Agency
Istvan Ritz replaces Angelo Marino as Head of Unit C2 (Inclusive Society) in an acting capacity.

European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights
Rick Lawson replaces Sunniva McDonagh as Vice-Chairperson.

Health and Digital Executive Agency
Angelo Marino replaces Stephane Hogan as Head of Department A (Health and Food).
Victoria Petrova replaces Soren Bowadt as Head of Unit B3 (Industry).

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

Foreign Minister Alexander Schallenber is the new Chancellor, following Sebastian Kurz’s resignation after a corruption scandal. Michael Linhart is the new Minister for European and International Affairs.

Alar Karis has been sworn in as the country’s new President. Karis, who was the only contender registered, ran as an independent candidate and received 72 out of 101 votes. He was previously the director of the Estonian National Museum and will remain as President till October 2026.

Jarosław Kaczyński has announced that he will step down as leader of Prawo i Sprawiedliwość next year to focus on managing the party ahead of the parliamentary elections in 2023. Kaczyński has held numerous roles in government and was the Prime Minister in 2006.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service.

Read the most recent articles written by Nisa Khan - Movers and Shakers | 1 July 2022