Movers and Shakers | 13 November 2020

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

By Mia Bartoloni

Mia Bartoloni is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

13 Nov 2020

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: Parliament’s first Maltese vice-president, election of FEMM committee’s 2nd vice-chair, the outgoing Romanian MEP, Estonia’s interior minister resigns, the latest Commission appointments, and more!

European Parliament 

Roberta Metsola (EPP, MT) has been elected first vice-president replacing Mairead McGuinness who became Commissioner. Metsola had been the only candidate put forward when the deadline for nominations came to a close on Monday and was therefore elected on Thursday. A former lawyer, specialising in European law and politics, Metsola first joined the Parliament in 2013. 

Committees and Delegations 
Sylwia Spurek (Greens/EFA, PL) has been elected second vice-chair of the Women’s Rights and Gender Equality Committee (FEMM) by acclamation. Spurek is a leading rights campaigner has recently been vocal in condemning the Polish courts’ decision which effectively bans abortion in the country. 

Carmen Avram (S&D, RO) has been elected vice-chair of the Euronest Delegation (D-EPA). 

Andreas Schieder (S&D, AT) joins the Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Kosova Delegation (D-SEE). 
Monica Semedo (RE, LU) moves from substitute to member on the Culture and Education Committee (CULT). 

Jutta Paulus (Greens/EFA, DE)Bas Eickhout (Greens/EFA, NL) and Tilly Metz (Greens/EFA, LU) join the Special Committee on Beating Cancer (BECA). 

The Parliament bids farewell to Clotilde Armand (RE, RO) as she heads back to Romania and takes up a position as Bucharest District 1 Mayor. Armand was most recently a member of the Budgets Committee and the Serbia Delegation. 

European Commission 

Directorates-General and Services 

Communications Networks, Content and Technology (CONNECT) 
Paolo Garello replaces José Manuel Bastos as head of unit A5 (Administration and Finance) in an acting capacity. 
Krisztina Stump replaces Paolo Cesarini as head of unit I4 (Media Convergence and Social Media). 

Vincent Berrutto has replaced Mark van Stiphout as head of unit C2 (Innovation, clean technologies and competitiveness). Van Stiphout had been performing the role in an acting capacity. Berrutto is replaced in his previous role as head of unit B1 (Horizon 2020 Energy) within the Executive Agency for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (EASME) by Patrik Kolar. 

European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF) 
Helka Nykänen has been appointed internal auditor, filling a vacant position. 

Translation (DGT) 
Jakub Cháb replaces Otto Pacholik as head of the Czech language department in directorate A in an acting capacity. 
Rosie Ter Beek replaces David Baker as head of unit S3 (Editing) in an acting capacity. 
Mareks Graudins replaces István Nárai as head of the Hungarian language department in directorate C in an acting capacity. 

Other EU Institutions and Agencies 

European Central Bank (ECB) 
Frank Elderson (NL) has been endorsed by the European Parliament’s Economic and Monetary Affairs committee (ECON) for the role of executive board member. This positive opinion will now be tabled for a plenary vote at Parliament’s next plenary session in the last week of November. 

Public Affairs 

Apple, Brussels 
Agata Gostyńska-Jakubowska has been appointed senior government affairs manager as of 16 November. Gostyńska-Jakubowska has previously worked as a senior research fellow at he Centre for European Reform where she covered Brexit, the rule of law and EU institutional affairs. 

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it! 

National News 

Interior Minister Mart Helme has announced his resignation following comments he made in relation to the US elections. Helme will return to the Riigikogu as a member of parliament but will no longer be a minister. Two candidates from the Conservative People's Party of Estonia are now running for the vacated post - MP Leo Kunnas and Estonian Defense Forces (EDF) officer Mark Marjorov. 

On Monday, the leaders of the Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats (EPP), the Liberal Movement (ALDE) and the Freedom Party (ALDE) signed an agreement on the formation of a new ruling coalition. The coalition partners pledged to support a government led by former finance minister Ingrida Simonyte.  

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni - Movers and Shakers | 16 July 2021