Movers and Shakers | 12 February 2021

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

By Mia Bartoloni

Mia Bartoloni is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

12 Feb 2021

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: The latest Parliament committee and delegation changes, two new directors-general appointed at the Council of European Union’s Secretariat-General, Swedish prime minister reshuffles government, Commission, public affairs appointments, and more!

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter. 

European Parliament

Committees and Delegations
Jordi Cañas (RE, ES) moves from substitute to member on the Employment and Social Affairs Committee (EMPL).
France Jamet (ID, FR) joins the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON) replacing Herve Juvin (ID, FR).
Yana Toom (RE, EE) leaves the Employment and Social Affairs Committee (EMPL) and joins the Regional Development Committee (REGI).
Tom Vandenkendelaere (EPP, BE) joins the Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee (IMCO), Security and Defence Sub-committee (SEDE), Iran Delegation (D-IR) and the NATO Delegation (D-NAT).
Emma Wiesner (RE, SE) joins the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee (ENVI), Fisheries Committee (PECH), Northern Cooperation and EEA Delegation (D-EEA).

Jan Huitema (RE, NL) moves from member to substitute on the Fisheries Committee (PECH).              
Tom Vandenkendelaere (EPP, BE) joins Foreign Affairs Committee (AFET), Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Committee (LIBE), People's Republic of China Delegation (D-CN) and Afghanistan Delegation (D-AF).
Emma Wiesner (RE, SE) joins the Industry, Research and Energy Committee (ITRE), Agriculture and Rural Development Committee (AGRI), Protection of Animals during Transport Enquiry Committee (ANIT) and People's Republic of China Delegation (D-CN).

National Parties
Monica Semedo (RE, LU) has resigned from the Democratic Party following her 15-day suspension from Parliament due to claims of psychological harassment by three former assistants. According to Semedo, the Democratic Party “allowed itself to be influenced by public criticism” and the media response surrounding the accusations despite the party leadership having expressed full support for her early on. Semedo will now sit as an independent in Parliament.

European Commission

Directorates-General and Services

Informatics (DIGIT)
Natalia Aristimuno-Perez replaces Emanuele Baldacci as director of directorate D (Digital Services) in an acting capacity.

Council of the European Union

Permanent Representations

Mikko Heiskanen has been appointed representative to the EU Military Committee succeeding Juha Vauhkonen. Heiskanen will commence the role as of 1 March.

Two new directors-general have been appointed. Dutch national Maryem van den Heuvel will become the new director-general for External Relations (RELEX) as of 1 April, and Belgian Didier Seeuws starts his role as director‑general for General and Institutional Policy (GIP) as of 16 February. Both Seeuws and van den Heuvel have extensive experience in the EU institutions. Van den Heuvel is currently Chief Foreign Policy Advisor in the cabinet of Charles Michel while Seeuws is currently Director of the Task Force on the UK.

Public Affairs

Association of Chocolate, Biscuits and Confectionery (CAOBISCO)
Mayssa Vande Vyvre has been appointed economic affairs and communication manager. Vande Vyvre has previous experience working in trade associations, an environmental NGO and a consultancy in Brussels, and also worked for the trade department of the Canadian government in Boston.

Digestive Cancers Europe
The board has appointed Zorana Maravic as acting CEO following the resignation of Stefan Gijssels. Maravic has worked with Digestive Cancers Europe for the past nine years, most recently as director of operations.

Pauline Bastidon has been appointed chair of the trade export group. Bastidon has been the director for trade and economic affairs at SpiritsEUROPE since June 2020.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

The Five Star Movement have formally backed prime minister-designate Mario Draghi assuring him wide cross-party support. Having already secured a parliamentary majority, Draghi is expected to have a cabinet ready for approval imminently.

At the end of last week, prime minister Stefan Löfven announced a cabinet reshuffle affecting four ministers and their portfolios. Former deputy finance minister and financial market minister Per Bolund has become deputy prime minister and environment minister replacing Isabella Lövin. Former gender equality minister Åsa Lindhagen replaces Bolund in his former role. Per Olsson Fridh has been appointed minister for international development cooperation replacing Peter Eriksson who resigned just before Christmas. Finally, Märta Stenevi has taken the gender equality and housing portfolio.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni - Movers and Shakers | 16 July 2021