MEP awards 2016: Almost time for 'Europe's Oscars'

Members of the European Parliament, Commission representatives and the Brussels community are set to attend tonight's annual MEP awards, organised by the Parliament Magazine.

By Julie Levy-Abegnoli

16 Mar 2016

Tonight's ceremony will be hosted by veteran MEP Paul Rübig, himself an MEP award winner for research and innovation. It will take place in the beautiful Concert Noble, at the heart of the European quarter.

After hundreds of MEPs cast their votes, we look forward to unveiling this year's winners. For more information, go to or follow us on Twitter @Parlimag. For those of you who are unable to make it, we will be live tweeting the event using #MEPAwards16 and our sponsor GSMA will be live streaming the ceremony.

For a word from last year's winners, click here.

Congratulations once again to this year's nominees:

Agriculture: Nicola Caputo, Ulrike Müller and Laurenţiu Rebega

Animal welfare: Janusz Wojciechowski, Anja Hazekamp and Emil Radev

Corporate governance: Sergio Gaetano Cofferati, Therese Comodini Cachia and Ashley Fox

Development: Nirj Deva, Mariya Gabriel and Davor Stier

Digital agenda: Antanas Guoga, Julia Reda and Róża Gräfin von Thun und Hohenstein

Economic and monetary affairs: José Manuel Fernandes, Brian Hayes and Steven Woolfe

Employment and social affairs: Brando Benifei, Ole Christensen and Filiz Hyusmenova

Energy: Miriam Dalli, Miroslav Poche and Seán Kelly

Environment: Sirpa Pietikäinen, Simona Bonafè and Catherine Stihler

Foreign affairs: Dita Charanzová, Arne Lietz and Monica Macovei

Health: Pavel Poc, Lidia Geringer De Oedenberg and Cristian-Silviu Buşoi

ICT policy: Mady Delvaux, Kaja Kallas and Angelika Niebler

Justice and civil liberties: Roberta Metsola, Jan Albrecht and Anna Maria Corazza Bildt

Regional policy: Tamás Deutsch, Matthijs van Miltenburg and Kerstin Westphal

Research and innovation: Michal Boni, Eva Kaili and Hans-Olaf Henkel

Sport and physical activity: Santiago Fisas Ayxelá, Emma McClarkin and Marc Tarabella

Tourism: Cláudia Monteiro de Aguiar, Claudia Tapardel and Istvãn Ujhelyi

Trade and internal market: Urmas Paet, Viviane Reding and Virginie Rozière

Transport: Merja Kyllönen, Dominique Riquet and Peter van Dalen

Read the most recent articles written by Julie Levy-Abegnoli - MEPs vote against beginning negotiations on updating EU copyright laws