MEP awards 2015: 'Europe's Oscars' just hours away

Written by Julie Levy-Abegnoli on 18 March 2015 in News

Members of the European parliament, commission representatives and the Brussels community are set to attend tonight's annual MEP awards, organised by the Parliament Magazine.

Tonight's ceremony will be hosted by former commission vice-president and current MEP Viviane Reding, in the beautiful Concert Noble just a stone's throw from the European institutions.

After nearly 500 MEPs submitted their votes, we look forward to unveiling this year's winners. For more information, go to or follow us on Twitter @Parlimag for live coverage throughout the night.

Click here to see a video of what last year's winners had to say to this year's nominees.

Congratulations once again to this year's shortlisted deputies:

Agriculture: Nicola Caputo, Jan Huitema, Viorica Dăncilă 

Animal welfare: Bas Eickhout, Sirpa Pietikäinen, Janusz Wojciechowski

Best newcomer: Miriam Dalli, Urmas Paet, Hugues Bayet, Eva Paunova, Pavel Svoboda

Corporate governance: Ilhan Kyuchyuk, Evelyn Regner, Ashley Fox

Development: Nirj Deva, Davor Ivo Stier, Eleni Theocharous

Digital agenda: Victor Negrescu, Michał Boni, Marietje Schaake

Economic and monetary affairs: Sven Giegold, Pablo Zalba Bidegain, Jean Arthuis

Employment and social affairs: Martina Dlabajová, Anthea McIntyre, Georgi Pirinski

Energy: Miroslav Poche, Adina-Ioana Vălean, Algirdas Saudargas

Environment: Pavel Poc, Simona Bonafè, Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy

Health: Daciana Octavia Sârbu, Alojze Peterle, Bart Staes

ICT: Julia Reda, Paul Rübig, Pilar del Castillo Vera 

Justice and civil liberties: Lidia Geringer De Oedenberg, Roberta Metsola, Helmut Scholz

Regional policy: Lambert van Nistelrooij, Liadh Ní Riada, Othmar Karas

Research and innovation: Philippe De Backer, Christian Ehler, Krystyna Łybacka

Trade and internal market: David Martin, Christofer Fjellner, Bernd Lange

Transport: Peter Lundgren, Franck Proust, Roberts Zīle


About the author

Julie Levy-Abegnoli is a journalist and editorial assistant for the Parliament Magazine

Interested in this content?

Sign up to our free daily email bulletins.


Share this page