Movers and Shakers | 8 October 2021

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: The approval of the joint assembly between British and EU lawmakers, Renew Europe’s chair resigns, Germany’s coalition talks, new commission appointments, and more!

By Nisa Khan

Nisa Khan is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

07 Oct 2021

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.

European Parliament

Committees and Delegations

Andor Deli (NI, HU) joins the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee (ENVI).
Enikő Győri (NI, HU) joins the International Trade Committee (INTA).
Lívia Járóka (NI, HU) joins the Employment and Social Affairs Committee (EMPL).
Ádám Kósa (NI, HU) joins the Development Committee (DEVE).
Ernő Schaller-Baross (NI, HU) joins the Industry, Research and Energy Committee (ITRE).
László Trócsányi (NI, HU) joins the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON).

The joint assembly between British and EU lawmakers to monitor the EU-UK trade and cooperation agreement has been approved. With 35 lawmakers on each side, the European People’s Party will recieve nine seats and the Socialists and Democrats will have eight seats. While the two groups finalize their choices for the assembly, Renew Europe picked Nathalie Loiseau (RE, FR), Liesje Schreinemacher (RE, NL), Jordi Cañas (RE, ES), Barry Andrews (RE, IR) and Hilde Vautmans (RE, BE) for their five seats while the Greens appointed François Alfonsi (Greens/EFA, FR), Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield (Greens/EFA, FR), Bas Eickhout (Greens/EFA, NL) and Terry Reintke (Greens/EFA, DE) for their four seats. The European Conservatives and Reformists Group and Identity and Democracy Group will get three seats each. The Left group has selected Chris MacManus (GUE/NGL, IE) and Sira Rego (GUE/NGL, ES) for their two seats and there is one seat available for a non-affiliated MEP.

Political Groups

Renew Europe
Dacian Cioloș (RE, RO) has resigned as chair of the group after winning his national party’s elections. A couple of members have already shown interest in running for the position such as Sophie in ‘t Veld (RE, NL) and Stéphane Séjourné (RE, FR). The group will organize elections in the coming weeks. 

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets

Cabinet of Mariya Gabriel
Pauline Rouch replaces Adrienn Király as Head of Cabinet and will take over her responsibilities which include management of the cabinet, strategy and policy coordination and strategic inter-institutional and international relations.

Cabinet of Helena Dalli
Annelisa Cotone joins the team as a Member of Cabinet. Her responsibilities include disability and inclusion, economic and financial affairs and trade. Katarzyna Janicka-Pawloska also joins as a Member of Cabinet.

Cabinet of Virginijus Sinkevičius
Ralitza Rosenova Petkova temporarily replaces Agnė Razmislavičiūtė-Palionienė as a Member of Cabinet and will take over her responsibilities which include agriculture, fisheries control and implementation of the Farm to Fork initiative.

Directorates-General and Services

Communications Networks, Content and Technology (CONNECT)
Helen Köpman replaces Péteris Zilgalvis as Head of Unit F3 (Digital Innovation and Blockchain).

Competition (COMP)
Thomas Kramler replaces Nicholas Banasevic as Director of Directorate C (Markets and Cases II: Information, Communication and Media)

Defence, Industry and Space (DEFIS)
Guillaume de la Brosse replaces Ekaterini Kavvada as Head of Unit B2 (Innovation, Start Ups and Economics).

Energy (ENER)
Mechthild Wörsdörfer replaces Ditte Juul-Jørgensen as Deputy Director-General who was covering the role in an acting capacity.

Environment (ENV)
Patrick Child replaces Joanna Drake as Deputy Director-General.

Informatics (DIGIT)
Max Strotmann replaces Natalia Aristimuno Perez as Head of Unit D2 (Interoperability) in an acting capacity.

Joint Research Centre (JRC)
Evangelos Tzimas replaces Efstathios Peteves as Head of Unit C7 (Knowledge for Energy Union) in an acting capacity.

Translation (DGT)
Klemen Perko replaces Paschalis Papachristopoulos as Head of Unit R1 (Internal Administrative Matters) in an acting capacity.

Research and Innovation (RTD)
Anna Panagopoulou is the new Director of Directorate A (European Research Area and Innovation).
Magda De Carli is the Head of Unit A1 (European Semester and Country Intelligence).
Manuel Aleixo is the Head of Unit A2 (ERA Governance and Implementation).
Apostolia Karamali is the Head of Unit A3 (R&I Actors and Research Careers).
Konstantinos Glinos is the Head of Unit A4 (Open Science).
András Inotai is the Head of Unit A5 (Innovation Policy and Access To Finance).
Jane Amilhat replaces Andrea Gentili as Head of Unit C3 (Low Emission Future Industries).
Alexandr Hobza is the Head of Unit G1 (Common Research and Innovation Strategy and Foresight Service).
Christophe Proult is the Head of Unit G5 (Common Budget Service).
Matthias Will is the Director of Directorate H (Common Implementation Centre).
Rita Lecbychova replaces Bernardus Tubbing as Head of Unit I1 (Efficient Office).

Public Affairs

European Association of Automotive Suppliers
Filipa Rio is the new Head of Strategic Communications. She was previously the Acting General Manager of Liquid Gas Europe.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

Czech Republic
The 2021 Czech legislative election will take place this weekend with polls showing the ANO party with a four-point lead over the opposition.

After the inconclusive election, the two leading political parties have held internal discussions and exploratory coalition talks. While Armin Laschet, the leader of Germany’s conservative Christian Democratic Union, prepared to step down from his position, the Social Democrats held initial talks on Thursday with the Greens and the Free Democrats. However, it is expected to take weeks for the coalition talks to reach a conclusion.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

Read the most recent articles written by Nisa Khan - Movers and Shakers | 1 July 2022

Related articles