Movers and Shakers | 26 April 2019


By Dods people EU

26 Apr 2019

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: Two MEPS bid farewell to the Parliament, France's National Rally throw its weight behind Salvini's new alliance, the latest appointments in the European Commission and public affairs, the new Estonian government, Brexit and more!


European Parliament

The Parliament has found one of its MEPs, Maria João RODRIGUES (S&D, PT), guilty of ‘psychological harassment’ toward her accredited assistant and will impose a ‘penalty’ on her. There have been nine separate allegations against RODRIGUES, including attempts to reduce working hours and salary of a staff member after maternity leave.  

Linda MCAVAN (S&D, UK) has left the European Parliament and confirmed that she will not be seeking re-election in May.

Linnéa ENGSTRÖM (Greens/EFA, SE) also bids farewell as she becomes the Program Director for the Scandinavia and Baltic Sea Region at the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC).

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter. 

European Elections

Marine LE PEN’s National Rally (ENF, FR) has formally thrown its weight behind the new pan-European right-wing bloc – the European Alliance of People and Nations. So far, the group has garnered support from nationalist parties in Austria, Germany, Denmark, Estonia and Finland. The party came to fruition earlier in the month under the leadership of Italy’s interior minister and deputy prime minister, Matteo SALVINI to strengthen and unite disparate right-wing parties ahead of the elections. SALVINI has convened a large meeting to demonstrate the ‘full strength of the alliance’ in the Piazza Duomo in Milan for 18 May.

Would you like essential European Election updates as they happen? Get in touch to find out more.

European Commission

Spokesperson Service
Ana CRESPO PARRONDO has been appointed as a Press Officer covering the Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.

Siobhan MILLBRIGHT has been appointed as a Press Officer, covering the area of Jobs, Growth and Investment.

Commissioner Cabinets

Cabinet of Margrethe VESTAGER
Friedrich WENZEL BULST has moved from being a Member of Cabinet to a Senior Adviser, however he retains the same policy responsibilities.

Louise GROENFELDT has been appointed as a Member of Cabinet; covering areas such as State Aid Strategy, and Energy and Environment.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service.

Public Affairs

Amnesty International EU
Eve GEDDIE has been appointed as Head of the European Institutions Office and Director of Advocacy and will spearhead the organisation’s work advocating towards the EU and the Council of Europe. She replaces Acting Director Covadonga DE LA CAMPA.

Marine Stewardship Council (MSC)
Linnéa ENGSTRÖM assumes the position of Program Director for the Scandinavia and the Baltic Sea Region beginning 29 April in MSC’s Stockholm office. ENGSTRÖM will take over from Minna EPPS, who has accepted a position at the International Union for the Conversation of Nature (IUCN) leading the Global Marine and Polar Programme.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it! 

National News

Cross-party talks between Theresa MAY’s government and Labour’s Jeremy CORBYN on Brexit are on the brink of collapse after Labour said that the prime minister has offered no concessions on their key demands, including a permanent EU-UK customs union. MAY is believed to be planning to hold another vote on her Brexit deal within the next ten days in a final bid to avoid European elections in May.

Delyan PEEVSKI will contest the European elections on the list of the Movement for Rights and Freedoms (ALDE). Media mogul PEEVSKI is a highly controversial figure in Bulgaria, due to his control of large proportion of the country’s media.

Jüri RATAS' second government was formally appointed by President Kersti KALJULAID on Wednesday. Four ministries will be held by the Centre Party (ALDE), three by the Conservative People’s Party and two by Pro Patria (EPP). The new Ministers will officially give their oaths of office before the Estonian Parliament next week.

A total of nine alternate members will be sworn in as MPs on Monday to replace the new ministers. Urmas ESPENBERG, Kai RIMMEL and Arno SILD will be sworn in as MPs in the Conservative People’s Party of Estonia parliamentary group. Andrei KOROBEINIK, Oudekki LOONE, Natalia MALLEUS and Peeter RAHNEL will step in as MPs in the Centre Party parliamentary group. Mart NUTT and Heiki HEPNER, meanwhile, will be sworn in as MPs in the Pro Patria group.

President Klaus IOHANNIS has rejected the resignations submitted by three ministers, including Minister for Justice, Tudorel TOADER, EU Funds Minister Rovana PLUMB and Diaspora Minister Natalia INTOTERO. IOHANNIS has made it clear that he will not accept the resignations before knowing who will replace the ministers. Last week, the ruling Social Democratic Party withdrew their support for TOADER, who has gradually lost support within the cabinet for refusing to issues proposed changes to the penal code as emergency decrees. Eugen NICOLICEA had been proposed as his replacement.

Prime minister Viorica DANCILA has sent the president proposals for interim ministers for the three portfolios, namely Ana BIRCHALL for the Justice Ministry, finance minister Eugen TEODOROVICI for the EU Funds Ministry, and business environment minister Radu-Stefan OPREA for the Diaspora Ministry.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods people EU - Movers and Shakers | 20 March 2020


EU Institutions
Share this page