Movers and Shakers | 24 January 2020


Today’s Movers & Shakers are about, high- level appointments at the European Commission, European Economic and Social Committee President nomination, Greece's first female president announced, latest commission and public affairs appointments, and more!

European Parliament 

Committees and Delegations 

Budgets Committee (BUDG) 
Gunnar BECK (ID, DE) who was previously a substitute, has left the committee. He is replaced by Jörg MEUTHEN. 

Constitutional Affairs Committee (AFCO) 
Gunnar BECK (ID, DE) joins as a substitute, replacing Jörg MEUTHEN who leaves the committee. 

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.

European Commission 


Budget (BUDG) 
Lourdes ACEDO MONTOYA replaces Andreas SCHWARZ in the role of Head of Union B1 (Multiannual financial framework). 

Communications Networks, Content and Technology (CNECT) 
Kilian GROSS replaces Lucilla SIOLI as Head of Unit A2 (Technologies and Systems for Digitising Industry). SIOLI remains Director of Directorate A (Artificial Intelligence and Digital Industry). 

Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN) 
Werner RÖGER replaces Mary Veronica TOVŠAK PLETERSKI as Director of Directorate B (Investment, Growth and Structural Reform) in an acting capacity. RÖGER also remains Head of Unit B3 (Models and Databases). 

European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (ECHO) 
Paraskevi MICHOU has been appointed Director General replacing Monique PARIAT. MICHOU (EL) was previously Director General at DG HOME (Migration and Home Affairs) from 2018-20 and served in several other Directorates General including DG JUST (Justice and Consumers) and DG INFSO (Information Society and Media). 
Ilkka SALMI replaces Johannes LUCHNER as Director of Directorate B (Disaster Preparedness and Prevention). 
Rosa CIOTOLA is the new HR Business Correspondent, replacing Silke WRAGGE. 
Petra PEREYRA replaces Mihela ZUPANCIC as Head of Unit A4 (Communication) in an acting capacity. ZUPANCIC becomes Head of Unit E1 (International and Interinstitutional Relations, Legal Framework) replacing Charles PIROTTE. 

Migration and Home Affairs (HOME) 
Monique PARIAT has been appointed Director General replacing Paraskevi MICHOU. PARIAT (FR) was previously Director General at DG ECHO (European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations) and before that Deputy Director General at DG AGRI (Agriculture and Rural Development). 

Research and Innovation (RDT) 
Ann-Sofie RONNLUND replaces Filomena CHIRICO as Head of Unit A2 (Programme Analysis and Regulatory Reform) in an acting capacity. 

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service.

EU Institutions and Agencies 

European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) 

On Wednesday, Jacek KRAWCZYK (PL), current President of the Employer’s Group, was nominated by his group to become the next president. His nomination still needs to go to a formal vote among all 350 EESC members in October. 

European Banking Authority 
Gerry CROSS has been nominated to take over as Executive Director. The appointment is pending on Parliament’s approval. 

Public Affairs 
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) 
Ghada FATHI WALY has been appointed as the next executive director. 
The Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Compenies (CER) 
Andreas MATTHA selected as the acting chair of its management committee. 

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it! 

National News 

The Withdrawal Agreement Bill has been passed through both Houses in Parliament, receiving royal assent on Wednesday. 

The Socialist Party (PES) filed a motion of no-confidence this week against the governing coalition between GERB (EPP) and nationalist alliance United Patriots (ECR). However, it remains unlikely that there will be a majority in support of it. 

Czech Republic 
Minister for Transport Vladimir KREMLIK was dismissed early this week. Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Industry and Trade Karel HAVLICEK will take over the transport portfolio. 

Katerina SAKELLAROPOULOU has been elected as Greece’s first female head of state, for a five-year term. She succeeds current President Prok

Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni & Megan MacDougall - Movers and Shakers | 10 January 2020


EU Institutions
Share this page