Movers and Shakers | 21 February 2020


Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: Several Parliamentary committees elect new Chairs and Vice-Chairs, three senior appointments at the EEAS, the new French Minister for Social Affairs and Health, the new Eurogroup Working Group President, the latest Commission, public affairs appointments, and more!


European Parliament

Committees and Delegations

Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee (ENVI)
César LUENA (S&D, ES) was elected 2nd vice-chair while Dan MOTREANU (EPP, RO) was elected third vice-chair.

Fisheries Committee (PECH)
Pierre KARLESKIND (RE, FR) was elected chair of the committee.

Legal Affairs Committee (JURI)
Adrián VÁZQUEZ LÁZARA (RE, ES) was elected chair by acclamation at Monday’s meeting. He replaces outgoing UK member Lucy NETHSINGHA.

Korean Peninsula Delegation (D-KOR)
Lukas MANDL (EPP, AT) was elected chair.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter. 

European Commission


Communications (COMM)
Renaud SOUFFLOT DE MAGNY is now Adviser for Political Communication Analysis in Directorate A (Political Communication and Services) filling a vacant position.

Human Resources and Security (HR)
Guillaume LAPLATTE replaces Christian LEVASSEUR as Head of Unit B4 (Career Management and Mobility) in an acting capacity.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

EU Institutions and Agencies

European External Action Service (EEAS)

High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep BORRELL has appointed three new Deputy Secretary Generals at the European External Action Service. Enrique MORA BENAVENTE will become Deputy Secretary General for Political Affairs, Political Director. He is currently Political Director at the Spanish Ministry for Foreign Affairs. Current Ambassador of Italy to Spain, Stefano SANNINO will become Deputy Secretary General for Economic and Global Issues while Charles FRIES has been named as Deputy Secretary General for Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP) and crisis response. FRIES is currently the Ambassador of France to Turkey.

Eurogroup Working Group (EWG)

Tuomas SAARENHEIMO has been appointed president of the Eurogroup Working Group. SAARENHEIMO will take office on 1 April succeeding Hans VIJLBRIEF who held the position between February 2018 and January 2020.

Public Affairs

Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CCRE/CEMR)
Stefano BONACCINI has been reelected president for a second term of three years. BONACCINI has been president since December 2016.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

Minister for Justice Koen GEENS (CD&V) has resigned as coalition informateur, who had been appointed by King Philippe earlier in the month. King Philippe has appointed Patrick DEWAEL (Open VLD) and Sabine Laruelle (MR) to take over.

Olivier VERAN has replaced Agnes BUZYN as Minister for Social Affairs and Health. BUZYN resigned from her ministerial portfolio as she is set to be La Republique En Marche’s candidate for mayor of Paris, following the resignation of the previous candidate.

Parliament entered deadlock this week as no premier was chosen. All party leaders were nominated for Taoiseach by their parties, but all fell short of the needed 80 seat majority. Leo VARADKAR has given his resignation as Taoiseach, however until a new government is formed, VARADKAR’s government will remain in place.

Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni and Megan MacDougall - Movers and Shakers | 9 April 2020


EU Institutions
Share this page