Movers and Shakers | 11 June 2021

Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: Former ID group MEP leaves to sit as a non-attached member, new executive director or Eurofound, the new Slovak agriculture minister, the latest Commission, public affairs appointments, and more!

By Mia Bartoloni

Mia Bartoloni is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

11 Jun 2021

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.

European Parliament

The Conference of Presidents has announced the names of the 108 MEPs that will take part in the plenary meetings of the Conference on the Future of Europe. The Conference Plenary seats have been allocated as follows:

EPP: 28
S&D: 23
Renew: 15
Greens/EFA: 11
ID: 11
ECR: 9
The Left: 6
Non-attached Members: 5

Full details of the delegation can be found here.

Political Groups

European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR)
Vincenzo Sofo (ECR, ID) joins the Fratelli d’Italia delegation in the Parliament.

Identity and Democracy (ID)
Lucia Vuolo (NI, IT) has left her national party, the League and therefore leaves the group to sit as a non-attached member. It is probable that Vuolo will join the Forza Italia party. Vuolo’s departure means that the group now holds 72 seats in Parliament, one less than the Greens/EFA.

Committees and Delegations

Employment and Social Affairs Committee (EMPL)
Despite changing political groups from the European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) to Renew Europe (RE), Slovak MEP Lucia Ďuriš Nicholsonová has retained leadership of the committee. However, the Parliament's legal service has now concluded that the assumption Ďuriš Nicholsonová should retain her chair status is incompatible with the "teleological and systematic reading” of Parliament’s own rules. Accordingly, a new chair should be elected.

Lukas Mandl (EPP, AT) moves from substitute to member on the Employment and Social Affairs Committee (EMPL).
Paolo Borchia (ID, IT) moves from substitute to member on the Transport and Tourism Committee (TRAN).

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets
Sofia Asteriadi is the new deputy head of cabinet of Commissioner for Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight Maroš Šefčovič.
Camille Hubac also joins the cabinet of Commissioner Šefčovič replacing Gabriela Kečkéšová. Hubac’s responsibilities include: Conference on the Future of Europe, Citizens’ Dialogue, Support on EU-UK relations and Education and Culture, Youth and Sport.

Karolina Rudzińska is the new deputy head of cabinet of Commissioner for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Olivér Várhelyi. Rudzińska was previously with the Permanent Representation of Poland to the EU as head of the legal and institutional unit.

Directorates-General and Services

Financial Stability, Financial Services & Capital Markets Union (FISMA)
Almoro Rubin de Cervin replaces Sebastijan Hrovatin as head of unit D1 (Banking Regulation and Supervision). Hrovatin had been performing the role in an acting capacity.

Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (GROW)
Mary Veronica Tovšak Pleterski replaces Alvydas Stancikas as director of directorate E (Single Market Enforcement).

Other EU Institutions and Agencies

European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (Eurofound)
Bulgarian national Ivailo Kalfin has been elected executive director after his bid was approved by a majority at a meeting of the Eurofound Management Board on 5 March. A qualified economist, Kalfin was deputy prime minister and foreign minister in the Sergei Stanishev Cabinet (2005-2009), Member of the European Parliament (2009-2014), and Deputy Prime Minister for Demographic and Social Policy and Minister of Labour and Social Policy in the second Boyko Borissov Cabinet (2014-2016).

Public Affairs

At the General Assembly EuroGeographics members elected three new management board members. Eydis Lindal Finnbogadottir (National Land Survey of Iceland), Andreas Hadjiraftis (Department of Lands and Surveys of Cyprus), and Martin Salzmann (The Netherlands’ Cadastre, Land Registry and Mapping Agency ) will each serve a two-year term as members of the management board.

European University Association (EUA)
Director of the Institutional Development unit Tia Loukkola has been promoted to the role of deputy secretary-general. In this new role, Loukkola will contribute to increasing EUA’s capacity for strategic and organisational development and external representation as well as deputise for the secretary-general where necessary. She will also take a leading role in implementing EUA’s new membership strategy and in leading other organisational development projects.

FTI Consulting
Claire O’Neill has been appointed as a Senior Advisor in the Europe, Middle East and Africa (“EMEA”) region within the firm’s Strategic Communications segment. O’Neill was a UK Member of Parliament from 2010-2019 and held several ministerial positions, including Minister of State for Energy and Clean Growth. O’Neill is the Managing Director for Climate and Energy at the World Business Council for Sustainable Development.

Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE)
Former European Commissioner Cecilia Malmström has joined PIIE as a non-resident senior fellow and will commence her new role as host of Trade Winds, a biweekly virtual discussion series with the first installment due on 21 July.

SEA Europe
René Berkvens has been appointed chair for a two-year period beginning 11 June 2021. From 2006 till 2020, Berkvens was the chief executive officer of the Damen Group and overall responsible for its operation. At the same General Assembly, SEA Europe also appointed the following new vice-chairs: Bernard Meyer (Managing Partner, Meyer Werft), Hervé Guillou (Chairman, GICAN), Dirk Lehmann (Managing Director, Becker Marine Systems), Vincenzo Petrone (Chairman, ASSONAVE), Lars Skytte Jorgensen (Vice President Marine BU Boiler Systems, Alfa Laval), Lawrence Zammit (Chairman, SEA SMRC), Egil Haugsdal (President, Kongsberg Maritime) and Helen Polychronopoulou (President, HEMEXPO).

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it! 

National News

President Zuzana Čaputová has appointed Samuel Vlčan as agricultural minister after he was appointed by prime minister Eduard Heger. The move comes despite incumbent Ján Mičovský announcing his decision to withdraw his resignation and to continue in the role.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service.

Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni - Movers and Shakers | 16 July 2021