Movers and Shakers | 12 June 2020


Today’s Movers & Shakers are about: Conference of President's approve creation of several new committees, Parliament's new deputy spokesperson, the race for Eurogroup president begins, top EESC official told to resign, the latest Commission, public affairs appointments, and more!


European Parliament

Committees and Delegations
The Conference of Presidents has approved the creation of four new committees which are to be officially endorsed by a vote at next week’s plenary session. The new committees are:

  1. Sub-committee on Taxation – this will be a permanent successor to the PAN and TAXE special temporary committees, created in the wake of various major tax fraud scandals of recent years.
  2. Special Committee on Fighting Cancer
  3. Special Committee on Digital EU and Artificial Intelligence
  4. Special Committee on Disinformation

The Conference of Presidents has also approved a committee of inquiry on animal transport.

Nico SEMSROTT (GUE/NGL, DE) joins the Petitions Committee (PETI).

Delphine COLARD has been appointed head of the spokesperson’s unit and deputy spokesperson. COLARD was previously Press Officer for Institutional Affairs in the Parliament’s Spokesperson’s Unit.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter. 

European Commission


Competition (COMP)
Julia BROCKHOFF moves from Head of Unit, Communications Policy and interinstitutional relations under the Director-General to the role of Head of Unit R5, a newly created unit in Directorate R (Horizontal Management) dealing with Communications Policy.
Similarly, Tea BROMS moves from Head of Unit, Strategy, Delivery and Evaluation under the Director-General to the newly created Unit R4 (Better Regulation, Planning and Internal Control, European Semester).
Peer RITTER replaces Astrid COUSIN as Head of Unit D4 (State aid: Financial institutions II) in an acting capacity.
Astrid COUSIN takes on the position of Head of Unit, Commission Priorities and Strategic Coordination under the Director-General.
Olivier GUERSENT replaces Kris DEKEYSER as Deputy Director-General for Antitrust in an acting capacity.
Eddy DE SMIJTER replaces Kris DEKEYSER as Director of Directorate A (Policy and Strategy) in an acting capacity.
Koen VAN DE CASTEELE replaces Barbara BRANDTNER as Head of Unit A3 (State aid Strategy).
Barbara BRANDTNER replaces Maria VELENTZA as Head of Unit D1 (Antitrust Payment systems). The former was occupying the role in an acting capacity.

Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN)
Michael STIERLE replaces Ana XAVIER as Head of Unit G1 (Czech Republic, Malta, Poland, Slovakia) in an acting capacity.

Informatics (DIGIT)
Magnus KUMLIN replaces Willy VAN PUYMBROECK as Head of Unit B2 (Solutions for Legislation, Policy & HR) in an acting capacity.

 Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

Council of the European Union

Incumbent Eurogroup President Mário CENTENO will step down from his position as Portugal's finance minister on 15 June. This means that his tenure as Eurogroup President will end on 13 July. As it stands it is expected that Spaniard Nadia CALVIÑO will come forward to contest the position against Ireland’s Paschal DONOHOE and Luxembourg’s Pierre GRAMEGNA. The election of the new president will take place on 9 July.

Permanent Representations
Malta plans to replace its Permanent Representative to the EU, Daniel AZZOPARDI. It is likely that AZZOPARDI’s predecessor Marlene BONNICI will take over the role.

EU Institutions, Agencies and Other

Committee of the Regions
Several new members and alternates have been appointed for the period from 1 February 2020 to 25 January 2025:

Christakis MELETIES (EPP, CY)
Gusty GRAAS (RE, LU)

Panayiotis VASILIOU (EPP, CY)
Vincent REDING (EPP, LU)

European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
Members of the Bureau have formally requested that Jacek KRAWCZYK resign from his position as president of the institution’s employers’ group and to withdraw his application to become the EESC’s next overarching president. The move follows accusations of psychological harassment and severe misconduct by KRAWCZYK.

The European Union Naval Force Mediterranean Operation IRINI (EUNAVFOR MED IRINI)
Theodoros Mikropoulos, from the Hellenic Navy, has been appointed the new Chief of Staff. Mikropoulos succeeds Italian Army official Sebastiano Longo. EUNAVFOR MED IRINI was launched at the end of March 2020 with the aim to enforce the United Nations arms embargo to Libya. It is a European Union military operation under the umbrella of the Common Security and Defense Policy.

Public Affairs

European Bioplastics (EUBP)
Joanna DUPONT-INGLIS has been appointed new Head of European Public Affairs as of 1 June. Prior to joining EUBP, DUPONT-INGLIS held several senior positions at EuropaBio over a period of 10 years, including the Director for Industrial Biotechnology, Deputy Secretary General and Secretary General as of 2018. She also chaired the European Bioeconomy Stakeholder’s Panel throughout the course of its four-year mandate and served for several years as a board member for Suschem, the Sustainable Chemistry Platform

European Dairy Association (EDA) and European Whey Processors Association (EWPA)
The deputy secretary-general of the EDA and secretary-general of EWPA Bénédicte MASURE will retire after 25 years in the industry. Alexander ANTON, who has been heading the EDA for the past seven years, will take over the leadership of EWPA.

Friends of Europe
Director of Europe and Geopolitics, Shada ISLAM, will be leaving to start a new chapter as an independent EU commentator and head of New Horizons Project, her own strategy, analysis and advisory company.

International Association for Soaps, Detergents and Maintenance Products (A.I.S.E)
Nadia VIVA, Chief Communication Officer, Global Fabric & Home Care and Baby & Feminine Care at Procter & Gamble, has been appointed President. VIVA will be the first woman to hold this position in the association’s history. She succeeds Arndt SCHEIDGEN, Corporate Director Advanced Technologies Laundry & Home Care at Henkel after his two terms in office.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it! 

National News

Finance Minister and Deputy Prime Minister, Katri KULMUNI resigned last Friday following revelations that she spent more than €50,000 (£44,500) of public money on media training. KULMUNI remains the leader of the Centre Party. Former prime minister and current parliamentary speaker, Matti VANHANEN took over the role of finance minister on Tuesday.

President Marcelo REBELO DE SOUSA has accepted the resignation of Finance Minister Mário CENTENO. CENTENO will step down on 15 June and be replaced by current secretary of state for the budget João LEÃO.


Read the most recent articles written by Mia Bartoloni - Movers and Shakers | 26 June 2020


EU Institutions
Share this page