Dods EU Elections Alert: Greens/EFA alliance reconfirmed

The alliance between the European Greens and the European Free Alliance was formally reconfirmed for the coming legislative term.

By Dods EU monitoring

18 Jun 2014

The bureau of the new Greens/EFA group (co-presidents, vice-presidents, treasurer and secretaries-general) was also finalised.

In addition to Greens and European Free Alliance MEPs, the group will also include independent MEPs. The group welcomes new independent MEPs Klaus Buchner (Ökologisch-Demokratische Partei, Germany), Julia Reda (Piraten Partei, Germany), Bronis Rope (LVZS, Lithuania) and Igor Šoltes (Party Verhamem, Slovenia).

Commenting on this, Greens/EFA co-presidents Rebecca Harms and Philippe Lamberts said:

"We are delighted to welcome new independent members to the Greens/EFA group. The cohesiveness of our group has been one of our major strengths and we are happy that this approach and our political philosophy have convinced new members to join us. The addition of Bronsis Rope and Igor Šoltes, combined with the election of Davor Skrlec (ORaH, Croatia), Benedek Jávor (Párbeszéd Magyarországért, Hungary) and Tamás Meszerics (LMP, Hungary), will see the group expand to new member states. This is a major step forward."

The final composition of the group is not yet confirmed, with further developments possible but an up-to-date list can be found here.

While the group elected its co-presidency of Rebecca Harms and Philippe Lamberts and most of its vice-presidents last week, the bureau was finalised today. The first vice-president of the Greens/EFA group will be Josep Maria Terricabras, who was elected as president of the European Free Alliance section of the group by EFA MEPs last week. French MEP Michèle Rivasi was elected to the final remaining vice-presidency, joining Bas Eickhout (Netherlands, Greens/EFA treasurer), Peter Eriksson (Sweden), Heidi Hautala (Finland), Ska Keller (Germany), and Julia Reda (Germany). Ulrike Lunacek (Austria) is the Greens/EFA group's candidate for vice-president of the European Parliament. Vula Tsetsi was re-elected as secretary general of the group, with Jochen Denkinger and José Luis Linazasoro re-elected as deputy secretaries general.

Press release online

Also see:

Terricabras confirmed as Greens/EFA Vice President, Group of European Free Alliance

Read the most recent articles written by Dods EU monitoring - EU Top Jobs: Class of 2019 biographies

Share this page