World needs vigorous regulatory action to fight AMR

Written by José Inácio Faria on 20 September 2017 in Opinion
Opinion

The global response to AMR requries strong collaboration between the environmental, trade, innovation and human and animal health sectors, says José Inácio Faria.

José Inácio Faria | Photo credit: European Parliament audiovisual


Antimicrobial resistance is one of the most complex global health challenges today. The world has long ignored warnings that some antibiotics are losing effectiveness after decades of overuse and misuse in human medicine, animal health and agriculture. 

Over the last two years, antimicrobial resistance (AMR) has attracted unprecedented attention at the highest political levels.

In fact, in May 2015, at the 68th World Health Assembly, governments adopted a global action plan which identifies a set of strategic objectives. In 2016, the United Nations General Assembly held the first high-level meeting on antimicrobial resistance and passed a political declaration.


RELATED CONTENT


The issue has also been on the agenda of recent G7 and G20’s meetings.

In June 2017, the Commission adopted the new EU One Health Action Plan against AMR. This had been requested by member states in Council conclusions from June last year, calling for a new and comprehensive EU action plan on AMR based on the One Health approach.

This new One Health action plan against AMR is motivated by the need for the EU to play a leading role in the fight against AMR and to add value to member states’ actions. This new plan supports the EU and its member states in delivering innovative, effective and sustainable responses to AMR; strategically reinforce the research agenda on AMR and enable the EU to actively promote global action and play a leading role in the fight against AMR. 

Its overarching goal is to preserve the possibility of effective treatment of infections in humans and animals. It provides a framework for continued, more extensive action to reduce the emergence and spread of AMR and to increase the development and availability of new effective antimicrobials inside and outside the EU.

The key objectives of this new plan are built on three main pillars: Making the EU a best practice region; boosting research, development and innovation; and shaping the global agenda.

We all know resistant bacteria does not respect borders. Both at EU and national level, there is still much more that needs to be done. That is why I believe that today’s initiative on antimicrobial resistance, and the role of existing new antibiotics is of paramount importance.

Despite great efforts made in the past years, including through public-private partnerships, there are not enough antimicrobials in the pipeline to meet expected needs. The spread of AMR has also contributed to the declining effectiveness of existing antimicrobials. More research is needed to develop new medicinal products, therapeutics and alternative treatments, as well as innovative anti-infective approaches and products for humans and animals. 

More research is also needed to advance the repurposing of old antimicrobials, improve their activity and develop new combination therapies, including those to treat multidrug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB). Digital technologies for testing biomedical products and innovation in eHealth should also be scaled.

The Estonian EU Council presidency’s work programme includes a major conference on AMR on 23 November, as well as specific regulatory measures to step away from the brink of a global outbreak. 

The main focus will be on the new EU action plan, national action plans and its indicators at EU/national level to measure the status of AMR and/or effect of action plans/recommendations/ conclusions.

AMR is a growing threat that is responsible for 25,000 deaths and a loss of €1.5 billion in the EU every year, and poses a fundamental threat to human health, development, and security. 

European health Commissioner Vytenis Andriukaitis said that, “AMR is a silent tsunami. Decisive collective actions are needed to avoid slipping backwards towards a pre-antibiotic age where even minor infections and injuries resulted in death.”

This is the time to act. AMR is a massive challenge and in my opinion, vigorous regulatory action is required.

The global response to AMR needs a strong collaboration between sectors including human and animal health, environmental, trade, intellectual property and innovation. 

If we fail to do so, the brunt of these will be borne by our children and grandchildren, and felt most keenly in the poorest parts of the world.

 

About the author

José Inácio Faria (EPP, PT) is a member of Parliament's environment, public health and food safety committee

Interested in this content?

Sign up to our free daily email bulletins.

 

Share this page

Tags

Categories

Related Articles

Issue 462 | 09 October 2017
16 October 2017

Cécile Kashetu Kyenge Interview, Gender Equality, Health and Safety, Future of Food, Spirit Drinks Regulation, Brexit, Energy Labelling, Plastics Strategy, 5 questions with Antanas Guoga and more...

Farmers need closer cooperation with food supply chain
10 October 2017

Agriculture is under increasing pressure both to produce more food, and preserve the environment, writes Paolo De Castro.

Food safety: EU must build on its strengths
10 October 2017

Improving food safety has been a continuous process for the EU, and it must build on its strengths in this area, says Adina Vălean.

Related Partner Content

PM+: Time to simplify complex EU animal medicine rules
11 May 2015

Cutting the red tape surrounding veterinary medicines will free up resources and bring new innovation, argues Rick Clayton of IFAH-Europe...

PM+: Veterinary medicines need single manufacturing specification
5 June 2015

Commission's plans for harmonising veterinary medicine authorisation need review, argues IFAH-Europe's ...

Thought Leader | IFAH-Europe: Veterinary Medicines Package
18 September 2015

The veterinary medicines package is an opportunity to boost Europe's innovative prowess, writes Roxane Feller.