Movers and Shakers | 28 June 2019

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our movers and shakers column.

By Dods people EU

28 Jun 2019

Today’s Movers & Shakers is about: The division of top jobs in Parliament begins, timetable for Parliament's contitutive session revealed, Spain's Ciudadanos party faces an internal crisis, the new German minister, Latest appointments at the Commission, Committee of the Regions, public affairs and more!


European Parliament

An internal meeting of political groups on Wednesday revealed that the division of top jobs within the Parliament has finally begun as each group lay down their preferences for the positions of chairs and vice-chairs of the Parliament’s 20 committees. The EPP, being the largest delegation, have placed dibs on the head of two top committees – the Foreign Affairs committee (AFET) and Industry committee (ITRE), along with Culture (CULT), Development (DEVE), Constitutional Affairs (AFCO), Petitions (PETI) and Budgetary Control (CONT).

The S&D group have instead asked for the head of the Economic and Monetary Affairs committee (ECON) as well as International Trade (INTA), Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) and Women’s Rights and Gender Equality (FEMM) committees.

Amongst the requests placed by the newly formed Renew Europe group are for the head of the Environment and Health committee (ENVI) and the Fisheries committee (PECH). The Greens on the other hand have earmarked the Transport (TRAN) and the Internal Market (IMCO) committees

Meanwhile, Identity and Democracy have set their sights on Agriculture (AGRI) and Legal Affairs (JURI). This leaves the ECR who have asked for Budgets (BUDG) and Employment (EMPL) and GUE/NGL who will go for Regional Development (REGI).

In other news, the Parliament Press Service has released its timetable for the first sitting of the ninth legislative term. The elections of its own leadership have been pushed back one day until Wednesday (3 July). Voting will start at 09.00 CET on Wednesday and continue until close of ballots at 23.00 CET. Thursday will then see the election of quaestors followed by a debate with Donald TUSK and Jean-Claude JUNCKER on the EU Council Summit.

MEP Jeppe KOFOD (S&D, DK) will give up his seat in Parliament after being named as foreign minister in the Danish government led by new Social Democratic prime minister Mette FREDERIKSEN. He will be replaced by Marianne VIND.

Political Groups

Renew Europe
MEP Javier NART (ES), has resigned from his role on the executive committee of Spanish party Citizens and therefore will sit as in independent in the Parliament pending a further decision.

The group welcome Fredrick FEDERLEY (SE) and Sylvie BRUNET (FR) who will both join their team of vice-presidents in the Parliament.

Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets

Cabinet of Margrethe Vestager
Michele PIERGIOVANNI has been appointed a Senior Adviser in the Cabinet of Margrethe VESTAGER, replacing former Senior Adviser Friedrich-Wenzel BULST.

Ognian ZLATEV has been appointed the new Head of the Commission Delegation in Zagreb and will replace Branko BARIČEVIĆ on 1 July.  BARIČEVIĆ will become an Advisor to President JUNCKER on the preparations for the Croatian Presidency of the European Council.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service. 

Committee of the Regions

Julián ZAFRA DÍAZ (ES) has been appointed an alternate member, replacing Maria Luisa de MIGUEL ANASAGASTI.

Roberto SANTANGELO (IT) has been appointed as an alternate member, replacing Giuseppe DI PANGRAZIO.

Christian SOLINAS (IT) has been appointed as a member, replacing Francesco PIGLIARU.

Public Affairs

The Catholic Church in the European Union (COMECE)
Fr. Manuel Enrique BARRIOS PRIETO has been appointed as general secretary and will succeed fr. Olivier POQUILLON on 1 September.

Confederation of European Paper Industries (CEPI)
Jori RINGMAN has been unanimously appointed as director general. He is the successor to Sylvain LHÔTE who has suddenly and unexpectedly passed away. LHÔTE had been the director general of the organisation since 2016

Jean-Christophe TELLIER has been elected president for the next two years. Hubertus VON BAUMBACH was elected as first vice-president while David MEEK was chosen as vice-president.

The Association of Lithuanian Trade Enterprises (LPIA) has joined EuroCommerce as a new member.

International Organisation for Migration (IOM)
The council has decided by acclamation to extend the tenure of deputy director general Laura THOMPSON. THOMPSON had been scheduled to finish the second of two five-year terms this coming September.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it! 

National News

Czech Republic
Prime Minister Andrej BABIŠ (ANO/ALDE) survived a confidence vote held early on Thursday morning, as his Social Democrat (PES) coalition partners backed the government. The opposition called for the vote following a leaked European Commission report which revealed that BABIŠ had breached of conflict of interest rules in relation to government subsidies paid to a company that he owns.

Mette FREDERIKSEN finalised a deal for her Social Democratic Party (PES) to form a single party minority government on Wednesday. The party shall have to rely on the support of the Socialist People’s Party (NGL), Red-Green Alliance (EL) and the Social-Liberal Party (ALDE) to pass laws.  FREDERIKSON will become the youngest Prime Minister in Danish history.

Christine LAMBRECHT has been appointed Federal Minister for Justice and Consumer Protection, starting in the position on 1 July. LAMBRECHT will replace Katarina BARLEY, who takes up her seat in the European Parliament on Tuesday.

The Citizens Party (RE) is facing a deep internal crisis over the party’s shift towards the political right, including making deals with the far-right VOX in several regions, and also over party leader Albert RIVERA’s decision to withhold support from Pedro SÁNCHEZ in his pursuit of forming government. Among the people to have left the Citizens Party are the party’s economic affairs Spokesperson Toni ROLDÁN and former French Prime Minister and candidate for Barcelona Mayor Manuel VALLS, who both claimed that the party was betraying its liberal values.

A parliamentary vote to nominate SÁNCHEZ as Prime Minister appears likely to take place in early July.

United Kingdom
The timetable for the departure of Theresa MAY has been announced. The new Conservative leader will be announced on 23 July, with MAY formally resigning the position on the 24 July, going to Buckingham Palace right after the conclusion of her final Prime Minister’s Questions, recommending that the Queen nominates the winner of the Conservative leadership election.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods people EU - Movers and Shakers | 20 March 2020


EU Institutions
Share this page