Movers and Shakers | 13 May 2022

Today’s Movers & Shakers is about: PEGA’s new Vice-Chair, DG ENV’s new Directors, Austria’s Ministers, and more!

By Nisa Khan

Nisa Khan is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

13 May 2022

Keep track of developments in the European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.


Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.


European Parliament

Committees and Delegations

Committee of Inquiry to investigate the use of Pegasus and equivalent surveillance spyware (PEGA)
Giorgos Georgiou (GUE/NGL, CY) has been elected as a Vice-Chair.

Special Committee on foreign interference in all democratic processes in the European Union, including disinformation (INGE 2)
Raphaël Glucksmann (S&D, FR) has been elected as Chair.
Javier Zarzalejos (EEP, ES) has been elected as the First Vice-Chair.
Morten Løkkegaard (RE, DK) has been elected as the Second Vice-Chair.
Dace Melbārde (ECR, LV) has been elected as the Third Vice-Chair.
Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz (S&D, PL) has been elected as the Fourth Vice-Chair.

European Commission

Directorates-General and Services

Environment (ENV)
Aurel Ciobanu Dordea replaces Kestutis Sadauskas as Director of Directorate B (Circular Economy). Ion Codescu replaces Aurel Ciobanu Dordea as Director of Directorate E (Compliance, Governance and Support to Member States) in an acting capacity.
Jorge Rodriguez Romero is no longer the Head of Unit F3 (Global Environmental Cooperation and Multilateralism).

Joint Research Centre (JRC)
Alan Belward replaces Giovanni De Santi as Director of Directorate D (Sustainable Resources) in an acting capacity.

Translation (DGT)
Michel Baut replaces Jackie Morin as Head of the French Language Department in an acting capacity.

Other EU Institutions and Agencies

Jerome Bouyer has been appointed as the Senior Vice President (Europe) and will cover three regions – north, south and central Eastern Europe – as well as AbbVie’s key European markets: Germany, France, Spain, Italy and the UK.

European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA)
Eduard Müller replaces Magdalena Łapsa-Parczewska as a member on the Management Board.

Incisive Health
Valentina Polylas has been appointed as a Director. Polylas was previously a Director at the European Regional and Local Health Authorities.

SESAR 3 Joint Undertaking
Andreas Bosche has been appointed as the Executive Director.

 Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

Margarete Schramböck, Federal Minister for Digital and Economic Affairs, and Elisabeth Köstinger, Federal Minister for Agriculture, Regions and Tourism, have stepped down.

Want to know more? Click here for more information on our Dods People EU service.


Read the most recent articles written by Nisa Khan - Movers and Shakers | 1 July 2022


Partner Content