Movers and Shakers | 10 June 2022

Today’s Movers and Shakers is about a new French MEP, Thierry Breton’s new cabinet member, Slovenia’s new government and more!

By Nisa Khan

Nisa Khan is the Editor of Dods People EU and the European Public Affairs Directory (EPAD)

08 Jun 2022

Keep track of developments in European institutions and public affairs with our Movers and Shakers column.


Stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our weekly newsletter.


European Parliament

MEP News
Max Orville (FR, RE) has joined Parliament.
Dino Giarrusso (IT, NI) has left the Five Star Movement (M5S) to form his own political movement.

European Commission

Commissioner Cabinets
Cabinet of Thierry Breton

Elina Laurinen replaces Pauline Weinzierl as Member of Cabinet. Her responsibilities include the functioning of the single market, intellectual property rights and international partnerships.

Directorates-General and Services
Communication (COMM)

Gábor Zupkó is now the Principal Adviser for the Relations with Stakeholders. Maksi Mátyás takes over Zupkó’s previous position as Head of Representation (Hungary).
Martin Stašek replaces Dana Kovaříková as Head of Representation (Czech Republic) in an acting capacity.
Per Haugaard replaces Tord Welin as Head of Representation (Denmark); the latter was covering the role in an acting capacity.

Competition (COMP)
Maria Jaspers replaces Corinne Dussart-Lefret as Head of Unit G1 (Cartels I) in an acting capacity.

Education, Youth, Sport and Culture (EAC)
Nicholas O'Cuilleanain replaces Dimitrios Athanasiadis as Head of Unit R4 (IT Projects and Support) in an acting capacity.

Internal Audit Service (IAS)
Natacha Legras Marechal replaces José Carbajales as Head of Unit (Agriculture and Maritime Policy, Environment and Climate Action); the latter was covering the role in an acting capacity.

Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (GROW)
Jakub Boratyński replaces Konstantin Vassilev Pashev as Head of Unit D1 (Skills, Services, Professions) in an acting capacity.

Joint Research Centre (JRC)
Laurent Jerrige replaces Bernard Magenhann as Director of Directorate J (Nuclear Decommissioning and Waste Management); the latter was covering the role in an acting capacity.

Mobility and Transport (MOVE)
Sandro Santamato replaces Maurizio Castelletti as Head of Unit C3 (Single European Rail Area). Annika Kroon takes over Santamato’s previous position as Head of Unit D1 (Maritime Transport and Logistics).

Translation (DGT)
Marcin Stryjecki replaces Joao Coelho as Head of Unit (Portuguese Language Department) in an acting capacity.

Got a new appointment you would like us to include in our next newsletter? Click here to let us know about it!

National News

Zeta Emilianidou, Minister of Labour and Social Insurance, passed away on 6 June. Her duties will be performed by the Minister of Transport until a new Minister is appointed.

Prime Minister Robert Golob’s cabinet has been sworn in. To see the updated government, click here for information on our Dods People EU service.


Read the most recent articles written by Nisa Khan - Movers and Shakers | 1 July 2022

Related articles