Estonian Council presidency must tackle unemployment

Written by Yana Toom on 14 July 2017 in Opinion
Opinion

One of the priorities of the Estonian presidency is ensuring equal opportunities in the labour market and social inclusion, explains Yana Toom.

Yana Toom | Photo credit: European Parliament audiovisual


In March 2017, the unemployment rate in the euro area stood at 9.5 per cent, down from 10.2 per cent in March 2016. 

However, despite recent improvements, unemployment rates have not yet returned to pre-crisis levels. The percentage of people at risk of poverty and social exclusion remains very high. Inequality reduces the output of the economy and the potential for sustainable growth.

One of the priorities of the Estonian presidency is ensuring equal opportunities in the labour market and social inclusion. How could this be achieved?

I believe that there is a great potential in minimum income schemes for poverty reduction - this could prove crucial to achieving the Europe 2020 poverty target and putting an end to in-work poverty.

Some key issues we must urgently tackle are the integration of long-term unemployed individuals through individually tailored measures, mutual recognition of skills and qualifications and the efficiency of the youth guarantee. All of these measures are still inadequately implemented in some member states.

 

About the author

Yana Toom (ALDE, EE) is a member of Parliament's employment and social affairs committee

Interested in this content?

Sign up to our free daily email bulletins.

 

Share this page

Tags

Categories

Related Articles

Jean-Claude Juncker: EU has window of opportunity to reform itself
13 September 2017

Innovative measures needed to “win the hearts and minds” of citizens, says European Commission chief in State of the Union address.

Issue 460 | 11 September 2017
12 September 2017

Corina Crețu Interview, Clean Energy, EU-Brazil trade, Biotech Week, Antimicrobial Resistance, Jobs and Growth, Copyright Reform, German Elections, 5 questions with Merja Kyllönen and more.

MEPs show support for fire safety campaign
8 September 2017

MEPs have thrown their weight behind calls for EU action to help tackle the toxic time-bomb facing firefighters across Europe.

Related Partner Content

New eLearning course makes Public Procurement of Innovation easier
20 September 2016

The PAPIRUS project offers a free and practical eLearning course for public authorities, explains Paweł Nowakowski.

PM+: UN disability review should be a wake-up call for EU policymakers
28 September 2015

EU leaders need to implement a more comprehensive disability approach within the EU legislative framework, argues Luk Zelderloo.

PAPIRUS means innovative public procurement
20 September 2016

The PAPIRUS project tested Public Procurement of Innovation in the field of energy efficiency of buildings and developed educational tools on proper implementation of PPI, explains Paweł...